Race in America. I really don't have to elaborate on those three words much, do I? 

The past few days I've been watching, reading, and listening to the story involving Riley Cooper of the Philadelphia Eagles breaking out that racial slur. Sure, he asked for forgiveness, and some for the most part gave him that forgiveness. Yet, at the same time, you know for a fact that what he said is going to stick in the minds of everyone who it affected. Most of those people being African-Americans.

Fast forward to today, where I was at the park earlier in the day shooting around with friends. This one kid, on the other court, was playing his friend in a pickup and tried to distract him. What did he use? "NIGGA, NIGGA, NIGGA!" What really irritated me was that he said that same phrase more than once, so naturally, I was ready to confront the kid (add the fact that he looked like he was still in middle school, as well). Of course, my friends stopped me before I could say anything, but you get the point.

Now I know that some would say that its okay and it wasn't racist, only because he didn't say it with an "-er" at the end. My response is this: That's besides the point. I don't care if someone says it with an "a", "-er", or anything. That word, whatever the connotation, just shouldn't be tossed around like someones' first name. Hell, I was a victim of having that name being called on me. I don't have to dive into how ignorant the person. What I will say is that he is one of the many in this country that just toss it around (most of whom don't even care). I know that it's just how people are and my life will be full those people since I am a Black man, but quite frankly (seeing how far Blacks have come), it's a goddamn shame. 

And to those racist bigots that word is practically a first name, I honestly hope karma makes an example out of you. 

That's one of the aforementioned "irrelevant arguments". Now it's on to the next one.

There are going to be those people that say, "Well black people use it all the time when they talk to each other." Really? That's you're argument? Just because some blacks do it doesn't mean we all do it, and it sure as hell doesn't mean it gives someone else the right to just whip that word around. Oh, and a message to those who are the ones who say it when talking to each other: if you do want to do and say all that (and I don't advocate it at all, but who am I?), at the very least do it somewhere where a lot of the public can hear.

Again, I know it's all part of life as a Black person. At the same time, that doesn't mean that I have to sit back and not take a stand against it. And to those who are NOT Black, yet completely understand the point I'm making and are not like aforementioned ignorant people, then you have pretty much every ounce of my respect. Most importantly, I wish more of society were like you guys. Unfortunately, as we all know, we don't live in a perfect world.

Pardon my indulgence.



Leave a Reply.