So, I'm sitting here watching baseball, blogging, and listening to Frank Sinatra. Quite the combination, eh? The fact that I'm listening to some good ol' Sinatra reminds me of something: People really need to find other things to pick on me about other than my taste in music.

Yes, I'm a black boy from Chicago. Yes, I lived in a mostly black area. And yes, the same boy we're talking about happens to listen to virtually EVERY GENRE OF MUSIC ON THIS PLANET. What can I say? I love to break stereotypes. I guess it's just funny seeing people's reactions when I say something like, "I have to go to that John Mayer concert!" The funniest reactions? When I told someone that I listen to Michael Bublè.

And then there's the time when people found out I listen to country music. Their expressions were like, "What the HELL is this city boy doing listening to country?!" The moral of the story is this: you can't judge a book by its cover, and you can't apply a stereotype to everyone.

Also, people just have to deal with the fact that I'm not your average black boy from Chicago. Yeah, I'm cultured. Deal with it.

Pardon my indulgence.




Leave a Reply.